查看: 1921|回复: 0

Is Writing Obsolete?

主题

帖子

积分

新手上路

积分
Is Writing Obsolete? The Written Word is Having a Tough Time. It's Not Just That Literacy Rates Are Surprisingly Bad. (One Source Maintains That Half of American Adults Can't Read an Eighth Grade-level Book.) but Even Among People Who Can Read, Fewer and Fewer Want to Read. If You're a Passionate Reader (as I Am), This Might Bring You to the Brink of Despair. I've Been a Writer Ever Since I Was a Little Kid in Great Big Glasses. That Only Solidified in the Late 1980s, When I Got Started in What's Now Called Social Media. (Back Then It Was Called “virtual munity,”

When Stewart Brand and Howard Rheingold Fax Lists Were the Darren and Seth of Their Day.) The Rise of the Web Brought in a Renaissance of Text. Billions and Billions of Lines of Text. From Bulletin Boards and Irc to Those First, Stunningly Hideous Static Sites, All the Way to Today's Mainstream Explosion of the Social Web. Now We've Got Some New Tools to Play With. It's Actually a Lot Like 1989 (When I Started) All Over Again. And There's a Real Opportunity to Benefit by Getting fortable With the New Technologies. Trust Me, It's a Lot Easier Than Figuring Out Enough Unix to Get Around in a 1980s Bulletin Board System. pelling Audio If Your Idea of ​​Web-based Audio Stops at Podcasts or Internet Radio, You Might Want to Take a Second Listen. The Beauty of Audio is That It's Tremendously Portable.